Ah, sweet hubris!

Friday evening update: Happy to report that I’m 90% better. Congestion largely gone, energy much improved. 1/31

I wrote about clearing up a cold a week or two ago in a day. It worked quick!! But this past Monday (1/27) something nastier came along. Given the sudden onset, deep bronchial hacking cough, clear mucus, joint pain and headache and extreme fatigue, I think flu is a good bet, tho it could be a rhinovirus (but probably not). But viral it is (so far!)

Monday night was relatively rough but I started to wage battle with this. Every couple of hours, I took a couple of beta glucan, a couple of Resist Immune, a nice blend that sadly Jarrow no longer makes called Wellness Optimizer and a couple of grams of vitamin C. Tuesday I was lucky that I could stay home–and slept a lot. Ate very little, to keep the mucus reduced. I didn’t have the energy to even drop off mail at the post box! Tuesday night I slept well with some extra melatonin and when I woke up, I’d take more of the regimen. Yesterday (Wed) the cough was 90% gone and it moved to my head. I had more energy so I actually got out and did some errands and got some work done. Last night I figured the snot in my head would ruin the night’s sleep–but I slept well! I started taking more fizzy NAC (PharmaNAC), a total of three for the day rather than just one along with Cordyseng. And more and more vitamin C — right to nearly bowel tolerance. One should be aware that ramping up the dose of C like I’m doing can give one diarrhea, but I haven’t hit that yet, quite. That’s “tissue saturation.”

Today, better still tho still some head congestion and fatigue. Will continue the regimen.

While I would love to have avoided this (naturally), I’m still glad I had these agents in my armamentarium to wage battle. I’ll see how fast I can knock this out, resting, more fluids and all of that as well, while keeping alert for any bacterial infection development. While this is annoying, too, I bear in mind that many friends are battling far tougher challenges, and that keeps the suffering in perspective.

As my friend used to say, Onward and Sideways through the Fog!

Leave a Reply

