How often to check vitamin levels?

MedPage Today, an online medical information service that addresses current health care findings, recently conducted a readers’ poll on the question of how often vitamin levels should be checked. Most of those responding to the poll agreed that factors such as processed foods, mineral-depleted soil, overcooked vegetables and daily stress have combined to create widespread deficiencies in some vitamins and minerals. The majority also agreed that vitamin levels should be checked yearly. Here are some of the comments:

We asked readers if and when patients should be assessed for vitamin deficiencies. Of the more than 2,200 votes, 69% said that patients’ vitamin levels should be assessed at least annually.

“I cannot remember how many patients have been rescued from dementia and psychosis by B12, especially when I have a geriatric focus,” said one doctor, who also touted vitamin D, calcium, fish oil, and thyroid testing. “Everybody deserves a look about once a year.”
[…]
“I have just been rescued from severely low vitamin D levels, and my daughter has been found to have low vitamin levels as well. I wish my doctors had been checking levels all along,” noted another MedPage Today reader.

And another expressed similar exasperation. “It was not until I was diagnosed with osteoporosis that I had a vitamin D 25-OH test, and found out that despite being outside every day, my level was insufficient. By then it was too late. I am very disappointed that my physician did not order this inexpensive test years ago. Now, I have asked for a B12 test as well.”

See details at http://www.medpagetoday.com/

Leave a Reply

